FIVE. ALL THE WAY.

SCAN0097When I was four I decided my favorite number was five because it seemed happy. To a child five is a milestone. Once I turned five I could venture beyond the driveway and the long lonely days waiting for  my older sisters to return at 4 o’clock. At five I could go to school just like the other kids and start to be somebody.

Five has turned out to be my major life scheduling number too. Five years in college (I know, I know). Five years in California. Five years in Chicago before marriage. Then it was five years at the new house, five years at my dream house, five years in Denver, and now it is looking like five years in the suburbs until my daughter graduates from high school and life adjusts again.

For a while I toyed around with the number seven thinking it would be lucky, but it was just awkward. Yes, the age seven was great, but 14 wasn’t. Yes, I looked forward to turning 21, but since I’d been drinking beer since I was 14 that was no big deal even though the numbers fit. And who looks forward to 49? Or 56?

My husband’s mother divided her life up into 20-year segments. Twenty of marriage. Twenty of raising kids. Twenty of being alone. These days 20 years seems way too big of a life chunk. It’s gone before you realize you’re on your third chunk.

I prefer the more nimble five. It’s flexible. Responsive. Modern. Not as hip or edgy as two I admit, but still cool. Two can come off as a tad flighty. We all know three is predictable, and four is just boring, so it’s five. Five all the way.

This entry was posted in Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to FIVE. ALL THE WAY.

  1. claywatkins says:

    Happy Mother’s Day. I hope you enjoyed the day. Five is a good number. You are right, 20 is too long. Five is just right. Have a great week – enjoy it to the fullest!

  2. Elisa says:

    Charming!
    I never had a favorite number. Maybe I should get one.

  3. Tom says:

    Now I want to look back for a pattern to the years. Thanks.

  4. Oh, I like this, Mimi. 11 has always been my number and I love the handy way it doubles itself ,etc.

  5. jfoulkes73 says:

    I see the five year pace as workable, flexible, reasonable. Enough time to get to do things in one spot before moving on to the next.

  6. Kris says:

    High five! Love this – such a fan!

  7. Theresa Hupp says:

    My number was three. Predictable, perhaps. But I realized when I hit three years in my first grown-up job that I hadn’t been anywhere for more than three years since the 8th grade. It was like a brick wall, and took months to get through.
    Then I stayed in that job for a total of 17 years, and that company for 27 years. So clearly I did get through the brick wall.
    Thanks for this post, which caused me to reflect on all this.
    Theresa

Leave a Reply

